Ideas for Some Additional Language Features / Framework

Hi,

I am relatively new to chai. I am interested in using it in an existing open source project I am working on. This is a distributed terra-scale graph database. I need some sort of scripting/query language for it, and am considering chai for this role.

I would like to look into adding a few new language features:

(1) The possibility for spinning up chai server instances, and a standardized chai client:

Implement a multithreaded server supporting TLS, LDAP, Vault, sandboxes, with users, security groups, sessions, etc.

(2) Language extensions that will support chai-based RPC between chai clients and chai server instances:

Implement a language syntax something like:

remote foo = remote("foo.com"); // Connect to a remote chai instance at foo.com.
if (!foo.connected) throw "Could not connect to " + foo.address;

def my_fn(x, y) { // Declare any function or class locally.
    return x + y;
}

my_fn >>> foo; // Now transmit it to foo (assuming I have permission).
var ret = foo.my_fn(5, 7); // Call my_fn via RPC so that it will be executed on 'foo'.
var foo_fn <<< foo.my_fn; // Get the code back from foo.
ret = foo_fn(9, 11); // Called locally.

// Try it with a class.
class complex { attr re; attr im; def complex(r,i) { this.re = r; this.im = i; } } // A class declaration.
var mycplx = complex(1.0, 0.777); // Create a local instance.
mycplx >>> foo; // Transmit the class and instance data, in total, to foo.
assert(foo.mycplx.im == 0.777); // Now call a remote method on it.

In addition, one could create and populate remote namespaces, transmit class definitions, class instances (with the object state), etc., mostly by using a ‘>>>’ or ‘<<<’ operator syntax and the ‘remote’ keyword. The underlying serialization, security and protocol would all be handled behind the scenes.